Sign in to follow this  
Twig

Duolingo - TWO LANGUAGE-O

GOD MORGEN!!

I was angry about Duolingo not having Japanese last... Friday? Thursday? So in protest I started learning Norwegian.

Why Norwegian?

Why NOTwegian!

Anyway I'm four days in and I'm enjoying it. Having a few Norwegians in Slack to bug for understanding certainly doesn't hurt. U:

ARE YOU LEARNING A LANGUAGE TOO??? I DUNNO LET'S TALK ABOUT IT?????

I'm learning Spanish, but replaced Duolingo with a human teacher after the first month.

I started taking german classes in high school in 2005, and took them all the way through my sophomore year of college. I had exhausted our German department's language series and would have had to switch to taking film or literature which I did not want to do. I've been back in the swing of duolingo every day for the past 2 months or so.

Pro tips: 1. if you're using an app version, be sure to occasionally log in to the website because if you feel like you want more information on a specific topic, you can get descriptions there that more explicitly lay out rules. 2. You can also turn on/off certain kinds of questions (like listening, microphone, etc) 3. I would recommend doing 2 things each day a. the next lesson and b. the little weight to strengthen you existing skills. It does a fairly good job of incorporating older lessons in the newer stuff, but it's hard to hold all the vocabulary in your head if you're not using it.

I keep trying to use Duolingo but I always fizzle out after a couple of weeks. It just doesn't stick for some reason.

Been trying both to refresh my middle-school French as well as going through the Norwegian lessons at quite a high pace to find the instances where it and Swedish don't quite match up.

I have to say that it feels a bit odd to be learning a new language through my second language rather than my first. Not a lot of alternatives that'd allow me to actually use Swedish as the base language though.