Thrik

Making Music. Tunes by Idle Thumbsters

Thumbsters? Thumbers Thumbos? What is the correct parlance?

Anyway, it recently became apparent that a few of us on here have embarked upon a journey to create lovely music and our discussion of this has been getting a bit lost in the 'Life' and 'Plug your shit' threads. I personally am a complete novice after starting to do composition and production for the first time this year, and I think at least one other person here is similarly new to the process. So don't expect pro-level stuff from me, at least! Hopefully we can all learn from each other.

Sharing and getting feedback is a valuable tool for becoming better. So this thread is for anyone on Idle Thumbs creating music to show what they've been working on. I'll also keep this opening post updated with portfolio, SoundCloud, etc pages if people let me know that they'd like them to be added (I'll probably just include SoundCloud ones as I spot them).

Ozzie: SoundCloud

Patrick R: Bandcamp

Problem Machine: SoundCloud

Thrik: SoundCloud

So, just to do a quick catch-up of what I've put together during the last few months. There's been no real pattern to the kind of stuff that I've been making aside from the fact that I've had imaginary levels of games in mind when creating them. I've pretty much just been going in different directions in an effort to figure out some kind of style for myself, and also to work out how the production tools work — each time I learn some vastly more efficient way of doing certain things.

Winter Heights: Atmospheric and ambient music for exploring some snowy environment. Going off the plays it seems to be my most-liked so far.

Rising Joy: I had something like LittleBigPlanet in mind here, exploring some wonderful new level or something.

Heavenly Showdown: My first stab at guitars, tried to make it a bit boss music-like.

And now...