mikemariano

Waking Mars

I just started playing the latest iPhone/iPad game from Tiger Style Games: Waking Mars.

These are the creators of Spider: The Secret of Bryce Manor. The team also includes Randy Smith of Looking Glass fame.

The controls are OK. They are similar to Spider in the way that you can flick your character (or the seeds he throws) across the screen, but this time your astronaut can take damage.

Also like Spider, the actual tasks are almost too simple, but so far there's a lot of atmosphere to compensate.

Did anyone play Spider? I completed it, but I'm mostly ignorant of whatever background story I was meant to pick up.

I played spider and completed it on the basic level, but I think (not sure) to suss out the whole story you need to get all the secrets or whatever which unlocks an extra level with some more backstory stuff.

I read a review of waking mars which indicates that there are parts which get kind of tedious in that you have to lug seeds from one part of a level over to another part and do so repeatedly. I'm vaguely interested in the game, but that review has got me waiting for a sale.

Did anyone play Spider? I completed it, but I'm mostly ignorant of whatever background story I was meant to pick up.

I got maybe half of the pieces of the story or so -- don't remember much of it, was a while ago.

I just started playing the latest iPhone/iPad game from Tiger Style Games: Waking Mars.

Hmm. What does this game remind me of ...

I'm loving Waking Mars! It's the first iOS game which I feel rivals DS/PSP games (significant because, as some of you might recall, I'm rather obsessed with handheld games), and heck, even "proper" console games.