Karimi

Architecture Student attempts video game (hilarity ensues)

Dear Idle Thumbers,

Intro

You may have seen me around, I'm on the forum on and off-ish.  I'm a graduate student studying architecture, and this semester I am taking a video game design course. I have never really had any experience with the Unity Engine, or game design for that matter. I decided to start a little work/progress journal here, hoping for the occasional feedback and discussion. I'm open to all sorts of criticism, I have respect for the community here and thought it would be the place to get productive going on the process.

WEEK 1 -

The goal of the class : Semester-long project to design a "Garden of Eden" using the Unity Engine.  Thats pretty much the larger framework of the class, they haven't said anything about 2d vs 3d, or what the game has to do. Because the class is largely made up of architects it'll probably be more of an exercise in manouvering through a landscape, however, I'd like to try something a bit closer to an actual game than an engine sandbox.

First week was mainly providing a groundwork for showcasing what we are interested in. I'm particularly interested in the Garden of Eden narrative, so Adam,Eve,Snake,God,and the Tree. The games I would cite as key influences in general as : Monkey Island, Loom (in particular), Fate of Atlantis, Superbros.

I've started writing a general framework for the narrative, still not thinking of whether this will be 2d, 3d, point and click, 1st person, 3rd person, etc. First thing is creating a world.

Perhaps it'll be a point n click adventure game focused solely on dialogue choices. Or a game with some sort of gameplay mechanic and a story arc above that, (space battle?). Or maybe an exploration game ? Haven't decided.

Thoughts on the story thus far is :