Blambo

The Hypothetical Adventure Game

I've been noodling around with ideas for settings and stories for an adventure game that I'd have no time or resources to make, so I figured that I might log the little concept arts that I've collected for it here, maybe to possibly serve as inspiration for other people.

They're usually just doodles and stuff that I've found myself doing. I went back on some recently and found that they're composed pretty similarly to adventure game screens and scenes, so thought it'd be a fun exercise to make paintings with the limitation that a classic adventure game character can walk through them.

Thumbnails and ideas, updated regularly:

7wO6MnP.png

I liked the forest fishing village, so I started painting it:

LPqFks8.jpg

Perhaps not worth a thread, but I wanted to use up some room in this swanky new subforum we've got here.

It looks like you have some pretty cool/solid ideas. Totally pick up game maker or AGS or something and try to make it a thing, even if you just use those same doodles you have here as the actual backgrounds in the game.

I really like what you've got so far! Them concepts look good. Yeah, go make like.. one scene in AGS or Unity, using that as the background. Get some interaction up and running.

Thanks! I checked out adventure game studio. It seems like about as complex as I need for this kind of thing, though I'm totally in the blue sky phase right now.

I've colored the dock screen. Might continue painting out this whole area, make it like a village at the base of a huge tree:

jbnrBksMlBEEjq.png

That colored version looks really nice. I could see myself pointing and clicking my way through that.

Yes! Please make this interactive. I want to walk around in that, right now, please.

Thank you! I want to map out and design at least two more sections of that town before I do any interactions, and definitely to figure out AGS a little more.