greydan

does Endless Space deserve to get slated by its community?

:violin:Endless Space:violin:

I'm not a designer, of anything, so it took me a few hours (ie half of my first evening with it) to see what Endless Space is

4x Minimalism

in case anyone is as sketchy on minimalism as I was an hour ago, here's the relevant quote from wikipedia

the work is set out to expose the essence, essentials or identity of a subject through eliminating all non-essential forms, features or concepts

which ES has delivered

(also it's the most delicious UI in any game ever and just wow)

but the community are antsy, demanding every feature from every other 4x ever get jammed into the game

for example, a chap who wants three different kinds of kinetic round 'for tactical depth', but can't explain how they impact anything beyond visuals and his illusion of choice

3MA have covered fans' terrible sense of design before and I suspect ES is a prime example

of course it's entirely possible that Twilight's Immense maps broke me and now all I can handle are CKII's soap operas and baby's first 4x, Endless Space, so I thought I'd come to the oracle and ask for guidance

Bruce talks about this a lot on the podcast especially. Many strategy gamers think they want realism, when in fact they just want granularity of decisions. You just have to trust that the developers have the clarity of vision to avoid making their game everything to everyone.

Absolutely! That really encapsulates my thoughts on CKII well. I think the thing that kept me from other Paradox games was the numerous screenshots of sliders to adjust everything in minute increments. CKII cuts to the core of this, taxes are either Low Average High or Extreme, not 5.4% instead of 5.3% tax rate. That level of granularity makes much more sense to me.