Salka

Random people discuss Psychonauts

Today I purchased Halo 2 and a Crystal Xbox. On the whole, I give that experience a 5.843 out of 10. I also went to a lecture on Genetics and many pictures of George Bush and Apes were shown by way of demonstration, which is sad because even highly paid University Lecturers are going out of their way to laugh at the US now. I also went to another lecture on dead bodies. That was pretty gross, especially the part with just the heads. I am now an expert on dead people.

Here was the coolest part though; At work, I forced a co-worker of mine to buy Full Throttle and he totally digs it. However, he is stuck (something to do with bunnies) and was asking for hints. He is now in love with the game. Then, another co-worker came up and said, "Speaking of games, have you guys heard of Psychonauts??? I downloaded the trailer for it yesterday and at first I thought it was a pixar movie! And it looks hilarious!" at which point the other guy goes, "Oh, yeah, I think I read about that. The little bug-eyed kid with psychic powers."

It's weird because it's the first time I've heard people talking about Psychonauts (and Tim Schafer) that aren't, you know, us.

It almost brought a tear to my eye.

Almost, but not quite, because I am a heartless saleperson with a heart of stone. Or at least, it WOULD be a heart of stone, if I even HAD a heart. But since I don't, it's just an empty hole in my chest, carved of pure marble.

To be perfectly honest, I was actually more than a little jealous. I mean, I have followed Psychonauts from it's conception, right through the pregnancy, and that one time there was complications and it had to go into hospital for a while, and I'll be there when it's born. But now there's all these people and they're all like, "Man, Psychonauts, blah blah blah!" and that sucks, because it's like Psychonauts is a cheap tart that's sleeping with everybody in town and isn't my special baby any more.