Chris

Three Moves Ahead 163: Fifty, Alive, and King

Three Moves Ahead 163: Fifty, Alive, and King

Rob welcomes freelancer Rowan Kaiser and designer Jon Shafer to talk about Crusader Kings 2. They swap stories, discuss the impact of making a family-based strategy game, and question whether there’s all that much crusading going on here.

Remember to attend the 3MA panel at PAX East this weekend, at 4:30 on Sunday in the Cat Theater. Spread the word!

First time listening to 3MA and even though it took a while to get to the meat of the subject, I'm really liking it:tup:

Crusader King 2 sounds really appealing right now : I'm completely sold to the idea of focusing on a temporary dynasty leader and how it creates a dichotomy between the kingdom's and the character's goal. The thing is, that it sounds like this singular piece of gameplay is buried under a huge amount of hardcore and unrelated E3 feature. And I'm not very good at those.

So should I try it?

Vimes - I'm glad you are liking Three Moves Ahead. It contains just that little bit of absurdity to grease the way for Idle Thumbs fans. :yep:

Consider Dr. Bruce Geryk's silliness the delightful ooze that will carry you over.

I really loved Rob's observation about how the dynasty mechanics of this game help illuminate why hereditary monarchs have often been such absolute bastards. Giving the player that kind of perspective into off-putting or completely despicable actions--especially actions that closely resemble actual human history rather than pure invention--seems fairly unique to strategy games or at least most frequently achieved by them.