Sign in to follow this  
Vlad_Gusev

Illustrator in need of advice!

I've been following Idle Thumbs for four or three years now and finally I decided to make a topic and maybe find some suggestions! 

Around 20 years ago because of video games I started drawing (and never stopped since) thinking that someday I end up working on the next vagrant story, breath of fire or legend of mana game. Because I was fascinated with those crazy art styles and my art went in that direction too. Some years past most of the companies abandoned those very creative visual styles in favour of something more easy tu digest. I didn't understood that at the time, and so even now its been really hard for me to find work as an illustrator because my drawings are little bit too weird. Lately I've been trying to make my art more friendly and suitable for wide audience, as example I made this selection of work aiming at casual games and editorial art http://vldgsv.com/portfolio But I keep getting suggestions that my style is too risky, and that I should try going for indie game companies or animation. 

And so here I am, maybe you guys can give any advice? Or maybe suggest some indie studios that I should send my porfolio to?  I would be glad and very thankful to hear anything!

I invite you to look at my work at: http://vldgsv.com/

Wow! :tup: That looks amazing!

I don't think it's risky, but maybe that's because I see indie game art constantly on twitter and this would fit so well in a sweet adventure game or indie RPG or something. I don't have any advice as to how to get illustration jobs, but there must be a publication out there that would love this stuff for their editorial. I mean, I could totally see this being the headline art for something like Polygon.

Again, this is top stuff! I'm off to pimp this on twitter, because i love it! Well done. :tup:

Thank you BigJKO!