Nick's emergent Rust experience in IT310 got me itchin' to play again.

Of course I didn't want to go out and find a server I liked and get destroyed until I spawned away from people, so I bought a small, cheap server. You should join if you wanna play, it'll be cool having other readers around.

Details:

name          Unofficial Thumb
IP/port       216.244.86.135:28516
slots         50
join quickly by going to the console (f1) and entering:
connect 216.244.86.135:28516

PVP is allowed. There's a live map here.  The only mods are Oxide (mod API), PlayRust:IO (live map), Gather Manager (resource multipliers that don't seem to work), Sleeper Animal Protection (so you don't get et), and Give.

The only rule is to not be a jackass. Don't hack, be nice, etc.

I'm interested but I've never done custom server stuff before. I'll try it out and tell you if I run into problems. I haven't even seen what gender and color I am yet! That's how long it's been since I logged on.

I started playing on the server yesterday. I have no idea where I am in relation to anything else, but now that I looked at the map I think I'm on the south end of the map.

So far, I built a house and then proceeded to explore a cool cave that had like a jumping puzzle in it to get to the deepest parts. When I came back out, there was a helicopter flying around, which is apparently an NPC event and players can group up to try to take it down?

Went exploring a bit and ran towards a shape in the distance that turned out to be a lighthouse with a bunch of cool stuff. Parked my character there for now but I'm excited to keep exploring later.

I settled towards the south, on the other side of a bay from the docks, but I did just find you in the tower on a hunting trip. killt me a bar.

Thanks for leaving that nice note at my house clyde! I've left the door open again, feel free to make yourself at home if you come by again.