ahuttoftea

Video Games and Schools

So I'm a high school English teacher and I've been thinking a lot recently about how Video Games can be incorporated into the classroom. Obviously there are lots of ways but I'm thinking in particular about picking games that could be analysed for themes/representations of particular ideologies (gender/politics/whatever), or in terms of their narrative. I once went to a PD where I saw a school that used a Video Game as a pretext for a creative writing unit (essentially they got students to write fanfic of the game, but used moments from the game as writing prompts) and they found it was highly effective.

So, long story short, I'm trying to think of game recommendations that could be used in a classroom environment and was wondering if people might help me crowd-source some ideas. My criteria (or rather, the criteria for the people I will inevitably have to convince at the school) for a reasonable game would probably be as follows:

- Cheap/Free (lol schools have no money and buying a class set of a game is hecka expensive). Alternatively, one expensive game that would be suitable for showing/playing as a class might work.

- Platform (my school has Macbooks and some iPads, but I'm happy to take Windows/Android suggestions)

- Not too long (I figure it takes the 'average' kids 5-10 hours to read a book prescribed by their teacher, so I think anything much longer than that would be stretching good will).

- Narratively driven (has to have a plot of some sort, even if it's a bit esoteric like Journey)

- Age appropriate (this will vary, but no massive terrible gore-fests)

- Not too difficult (some kids will never have played a game before; this is one of the reasons things like 'Walking Simulators' or Adventure games kind of appeal to me for this task - if a kid gets stuck it's not dependant on their gaming talent for them to be able to progress and they can always look up a guide).