toblix

Future Wars

Just started playing this old Delphine adventure game. I started playing it lots of times back in the day, but never got past the descending ceiling at the very start. I always got frustrated, and tried lots of times, but the interface was just too clumsy and I never got any further. Now I'm using an emulator and can save and restore instantly, which allowed me to stop the ceiling after just three tries!

The very first screen of the game is amazing:

rsi7S.png

Ahhh... Delphine. If it's lovely graphics you're after, then their Cruise for a Corpse was a wonderful Agatha Christie throwback. Charming!

I always wanted to play Future Wars, but I never found a copy back in the day.

Fun fact: Delphine were a French music studio who got into games. As a result, their sound was always fantastic.

If it's lovely graphics you're after, then their Cruise for a Corpse was a wonderful Agatha Christie throwback. Charming!

Adventure Gamers isn't really into it. It's Evan "I like irony and zest and wit" Dickens reviewing, but the 2 stars don't hint at much quality.

Adventure Gamers isn't really into it. It's Evan "I like irony and zest and wit" Dickens reviewing, but the 2 stars don't hint at much quality.

Adventure Gamers also claimed that Grim Fandango's music "fails to create much ambience or atmosphere" and "often proves distracting and bothersome". They also rated Escape from Monkey Island as better than Curse.

Their opinion means nothing to me.

Seriously though, if you want a very straight, and pretty, Agatha Christie mystery, I don't think you can fault it. (The entire game takes place on a boat, and it takes around 5 hours to complete, IIRC.) Will YOU know who the killer is by the end...?

Oh man, I used to love this game when I was a kid.

Especially all the "hurray"s you get at the end. spoiler!

I don't know if it was lazy translation or the writers couldn't come up with anything better and decided, 'aw fuck it, hurrays all around!'