toblix

Realningu Japaneseru

So, after Capcom fucked everyone up the ass by not releasing the next Ace Prosecutor game or whatever it's called in English, I've decided to learn Japanese. I know some of you are ahead of me (for the time being), so some questions:

1. What is it called, the language of scribbles they use in those games?
  2. What is the best way of learning to decipher them?

The written language consists of kanji, hiragana and katakana.

Romaji is for suckers like me.

See, I knew there was a reason I started learning this stuff last January. Nostradamus can kiss my ass.

Oh, what Kolzig says. Do not learn romaji. You might feel it's a good way to start out, but it's laughably useless.

Step 1: Learn hiragana & katakana (shouldn't take more than a week each if you're ambitious)

Step 2: Start learning the kanji and dig into grammar. There's tons of resources on the web for this, and Rosetta Stone is an excellent way to put down a basis if you flesh it out with other methods and studies.

Thanks!

So these three things you mention are different alphabets, like?

Like Rodi already wrote, first learn hiragana and katakana, these are the easiest as both have on 48 characters. So in total it's 96 characters and then you are off to a good start already.

All three are used to form sentences. Katakana is used for foreign words not of Japanese origin.

There is basically no limit to the amount of kanji characters and not even Japanese people know all of them, that's why pretty much everyone in Japan carries an electronic dictionary with them.

And yeah like Rodi said, don't learn romaji. It's pretty much useless and you'll be a sucker if you do.

I... learned to read Japanese from the instruction manual from Mario Paint... :blink:

I almost reached kindergarten level (?)once and then just stopped, but I can still read most hiragana and katana and remember a few basic kanji.