Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
WARP DOGS

devlog
Village Monsters - A cozy life-sim with adventure, mystery, and monsters!

7 posts in this topic

vLSgkIX.gif

Trailer

Quick Info
Release: 2018(ish) for PC / Mac / Linux
Genre: Life-Sim
Pre-Alpha Prototype Demo: http://warpdogs.com/were-release/
Social: My Twitter (game updates and personal posts) | Game Twitter (game updates + screens only)

hgUeXgS.gif

Summary
My name is Josh, and I'm a solo dev working on Village Monsters, a life-sim game taking gameplay inspiration from the likes of Animal Crossing and Shenmue, with visual and tonal inspirations from the Mother series.

Village Monsters is set inside the world of an abandoned video game. Over time, the monsters that once served as enemies in  a generic fantasy RPG grew tired of all the waiting around, and eventually decided to abandon the whole 'bad guy' thing entirely.

They've thrown away their axes and fireball spells and now live a peaceful life in a sleepy little village in the 'country'.

You are a player booting up the game for the first time in decades, finding yourself as the sole human living among this village of (mostly) affable monsters.

mq3YyWK.gif

Features
Here's an incomplete list of things you can do in Village Monsters:

• Purchase, furnish, and upgrade your very own house. Hang up some new wallpaper! Plant a garden! Sit atop a golden throne you found in the woods!
  • Pick up a new hobby, like treasure hunting, cooking, critter catching, or fishing. Donate your findings and creations to the Historical Society of Monsters
  • Meet a boatload of rambunctious and whimsical villagers with their own personalities, schedules, and problems to solve
  • Experience total immersion thanks to a robust day/night cycle, seasonal changes, dynamic weather, and a packed calendar full of events and holidays
  • Explore a bizarre digital world that’s been transformed by its abandonment